Tag Archives: Warren Powers

Pinkel named SEC football coach of the year

Missouri Tigers pull in multiple team, individual awards

Gary Pinkel

Gary Pinkel

Gary Pinkel has been named coach of the year for the Southeastern Conference, topping off a week filled with awards for the team.

Additional individual awards were given to Shane Ray for defensive player of the year and Marcus Murphy for special team player of the year.

The Tigers finished the year with a 7-1 conference record and 10-3 overall record. Missouri finished as the Eastern Division champions but lost to Alabama on Saturday for the conference championship, 42-13.

Pinkel was named coach of the year in 2007 when Missouri was part of the Big 12 Conference. According to a news release from the university, three other coaches have received coach of the year honors: Al Onofrio in 1972, Warren Powers in 1983 and Larry Smith in1997.

Both Ray and Murphy made first team All SEC, announced earlier this week.

This year Ray, a junior from Kansas City, Missouri, set a school record for quarterback sacks with 14 as part of his award-winning season. He also racked up 21 tackles for loss and 61 tackles for the year, putting him third in the nation.

Murphy, a senior from DeSoto, Texas, was honored as an all-purpose back and for his special teams play. According to the news release Murphy has scored a touchdown in all four all-purpose categories: rushing (4) kick-off returns (2) and one each in punt returns and receiving.

Missouri will face Minnesota in the Citrus Bowl on Jan. 1.

Gary Pinkel  — Coach of the Year
Marcus Murphy — Special Teams Player of the Year
Shane Ray — Defensive Player of the Year
First Team All-SEC Second Team All-SEC
TE –   Evan Engram, Ole Miss TE – Hunter Henry, Arkansas
OL –   Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M OL – Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss
         La’el Collins, LSU        Ben Beckwith, Mississippi State
           Arie Kouandjio, Alabama        Vadal Alexander, LSU
           A.J. Cann, South Carolina        Mitch Morse, Missouri
C –     Reese Dismukes, Auburn C – Max Garcia, Florida
WR –   Amari Cooper, Alabama WR – Bud Sasser, Missouri
           Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina          Sammie Coates, Auburn
QB –   Dak Prescott, Mississippi State QB – Blake Sims, Alabama
RB –   Nick Chubb, Georgia RB – Josh Robinson, Mississippi State
           Cameron Artis-Payne, Auburn          T.J. Yeldon, Alabama
AP – Marcus Murphy, Missouri      AP – Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina
DL – Shane Ray, Missouri DL – Myles Garrett, Texas A&M
           Preston Smith, Mississippi State          Trey Flowers, Arkansas
           Dante Fowler, Florida          Derek Barnett, Tennessee
           Bud Dupree, Kentucky          Markus Golden, Missouri
LB –   Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State LB – Amarlo Herrera, Georgia
         Martrell Spaight, Arkansas        Ramik Wilson, Georgia
         Trey DePriest, Alabama        Antonio Morrison, Florida
DB – Landon Collins, Alabama          Braylon Webb, Missouri
           Senquez Golson, Ole Miss Jonathan Jones, Auburn
           Vernon Hargreaves, Florida          Damian Swann, Georgia
           Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss          Jonathon Mincy, Auburn
PK – Austin MacGinnis, Kentucky PK – Elliott Fry, South Carolina
P –   JK Scott, Alabama P – Jamie Keehn, LSU
RS – Marcus Murphy, Missouri RS – Quan Bray, Auburn