Kreklows, 3 others earn SEC conference volleyball awards

Molly Kreklow and Lisa Henning show off the volleyball team's SEC championship trophy Saturday, Nov. 30, 2013, at the Missouri football game.

Molly Kreklow, left, and Lisa Henning show off the volleyball team’s SEC championship trophy Saturday, Nov. 30, 2013, at the Missouri football game. Both players have been named to the All- SEC team. Photo by Karen Mitchell.

Senior Molly Kreklow was named Southeastern Conference player of the year it was announced today by the conference. Carly Kan was selected as freshman of the year. and coach Wayne Kreklow — Molly Kreklow’s uncle — was named coach of the year.

Molly Kreklow finished the regular season with a nation’s best 12.65 assists per set and helped lead Mizzou to its first SEC title. Kreklow guided a Tiger offense that ranks first in the nation in hitting (.362), kills per set (15.30) and assists per set (14.55).

Kan had eight double-doubles on the season and ranks in the league’s top-10 in hitting percentage (.360) and aces per set (0.31). Kan is the only player in the SEC to average more than 3 kills and 3 digs per set in conference play.

This is Wayne Kreklow’s first SEC Coach of the Year honor, leading the Tigers to a nation’s best 34-0 record, the most conference wins in school history and the program’s first-ever SEC championship.

Missouri finished the season undefeated with a record of 34-0 and earned the No. 4 seed for the NCAA tournament.  Missouri will host the first and second round games of the tournament, playing Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (19-13) at the Hearnes Center at 6:30 p.m. on Friday. Central Arkansas (29-3) will face Purdue (20-11) at 4:30 p.m. on Friday. The winners of each of those first two matches will play each other on Saturday at 7:30 p.m.

Printable NCAA bracket

Player of the Year: Molly Kreklow, Missouri
Libero of the Year: Taylor Unroe, Florida
Freshman of the Year: Carly Kan, Missouri
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Camila Jersonsky, Auburn
Coach of the Year: Wayne Kreklow, Missouri

All-SEC Team
Lisa Henning, Missouri
Carly Kan, Missouri
Molly Kreklow, Missouri
Whitney Little, Missouri
Krystal Rivers, Alabama
Meredith Hays, Arkansas
Camila Jersonsky, Auburn
Alex Holston, Florida
Chloe Mann, Florida
Živa Recek, Florida
Taylor Unroe, Florida
Brittany Northcutt, Georgia
Whitney Billings, Kentucky
Alexandra Morgan, Kentucky
Briana Holman, LSU
Juliette Thévenin, South Carolina
Allie Sawatzky, Texas  A&M
Shelby Sullivan, Texas A&M

All-Freshman Team
Carly Kan, Missouri
Krystal Rivers, Alabama
Alex Holston, Florida
Anni Thomasson, Kentucky
Briana Holman, LSU
Kimmy Gardiner, Mississippi State
Jazzmin Babers, Texas A&M


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: