Bradley, Waters, lead 7 Missouri wrestlers to next round of wrestling championships

Seven of Missouri’s 10 wrestlers won their first round matches Thursday at the NCAA wrestling championship in Des Moines, Iowa.

The winners advance to the next round, while the losers fall to the “wrestleback” bracket. Wrestlers in that bracket will finish no higher than third place for the tournament.

In the team scoring, defending champion Penn State is in first place with 14.5 points. Missouri is tied for eighth place with eight points.

All second round matches are Thursday night. There are two rounds on Friday and the championship matches are Saturday night.

Here’s how the Missouri wrestlers did in the first round.


No. 1 seed Alan Waters (30-0) won by 5-2 decision over David Thorn (Minnesota, 13-11) (Dec 5-2)
• Faces Sean Boyle (Michigan, 23-10) who won by 8-3 decision over Mark Rappo (Pennsylvania, 23-6)

Nathan McCormick (31-4) won by decision, 3-0, over Erik Spjut (Virginia Tech, 17-12)
• Faces Dane Harlowe (Boston U., 10-5) who won by 9-7 decision over George DiCamillo (Virginia, 30-9)

Nicholas Hucke (13-14) lost in sudden victory – 1 over to Michael Mangrum (Oregon St., 37-4) • Faces Dean Pavlou (Chattanooga, 25-13) who lost 5-2 to Trevor Melde (Rutgers, 21-12)

Drake Houdashelt (29-9) won by 4-1 decision over Andrew Alton (Penn State, 26-5)
• Faces Dylan Ness (Minnesota, 15-4) who won by 4-2 decision over Daniel Young (Army, 16-10)

Kyle Bradley (27-13) won in tiebreaker over James Green (Nebraska, 20-5)
• Faces David Bonin (Northern Iowa, 27-7) who won by 1-0 decision over Bobby Barnhisel (Navy, 31-7)

Zach Toal (23-16) won by 6-2 decision over Austin Wilson (Nebraska, 24-13)
• Faces Peter Yates (Virginia Tech, 31-1) who won by 5-3 decision over Mark Lewandowski (Buffalo, 30-8)

Todd Porter (31-11) lost by major decision (10-1) to Mathew Brown (Penn State, 26-4)
• Faces Billy Curling (Old Dominion, 20-11) who lost to by 2-1 decision to Nick Bonaccorsi (Pittsburgh, 18-7)

Mike Larson (28-10) won by 8-5 decision over Ophir Bernstein (Brown, 24-10)
• Faces Ryan Loder (Northern Iowa, 31-4) who won by 4-0 decision over Cody Reed (Binghamton, 18-14)


Brent Haynes (31-9) lost by sudden victory to Jackson Hein (Wisconsin, 21-10) (SV-3 5-3)
• Faces Maxwell Huntley (Michigan, 17-15) who lost by fall to Taylor Meeks (Oregon St., 32-5) (Fall 1:49)

No. 1 seed Dominque Bradley (36-1) won by major decision (10-1) over Stryker Lane (Cornell, 20-13)
• Faces Matthew Gibson (Iowa St., 19-9) who won by 6-1 decision over Blake Herrin


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: