Coaches pick Tennessee win 2012 SEC volleyball title

Missouri picked to finish fourth in Eastern division

Molly Kreklow will lead the Tigers again this year.

The coaches of the Southeastern Conference’s coaches have selected the Tennessee Lady Vols to win the 2012 SEC volleyball title. Coming off a 19-1 conference season and 28-4 overall mark, the Lady Vols received 12 of 13 first-place votes for this year’s prediction. The Florida Gators received a first-place vote after finishing 27-6 overall and 17-3 in the SEC last season. The vote of the 13 coaches was announced Monday.

Tennessee was picked to win the Eastern Division, followed by Kentucky and Florida.  Missouri was picked to finish fourth, followed by Georgia and South Carolina.

For the fifth consecutive season, the LSU Tigers are predicted to win the Western Division. The Tigers posted a 12-8 league mark and a 19-11 overall record last season and have won seven straight division titles.  The Texas A&M Aggies were selected to finish second, the Arkansas Razorbacks were picked third, followed by Ole Miss and Auburn. The Alabama Crimson Tide were picked to finish sixth and the Mississippi State Bulldogs predicted to finish seventh.

In the voting each coach is not allowed to vote for his or her own team and each coach also voted for one team as an overall conference champion.

The 2012 Preseason All-SEC team will be announced on Tuesday, August 7.

The 2012 season kicks off on Saturday, Aug. 11 in Dallas against SMU. The Tigers’ first home game will be Friday, Aug. 17 against Memphis.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: